top of page

Fieldbook Making in Minoru Park

A fieldbook can be something a scientist uses to take down data and technical notes. It can be something a surveyor uses to track measurements. As an artist, I use them to take notes about the places I am exploring and working with, to collect samples of the plants and earth I am trying to learn from. To me, a fieldbook is something I create for a specific purpose and place. I make it just the right size and length for the type of exploring I'll be doing and for the type of materials I will be collecting. If I know I'll have big leaves, I make tall pages and add a closure to press the leaves. If I need to take soil samples, I attatch bags to each page and make the cover a solid material. There is something really special about creating your own book to collect your own experiences and interests as you explore a place, rather than trying to remember it later. To me, a fieldbook is personal, much like a journal.


We went for a walk around Minoru park, finding geese, bunnies, snails, and all sorts of insects that we decided to try and identify later. I take it for granted that I grew up here and am familiar with this environment, so for me, this practice is one of slowing down and just noticing. But for many participants, this beautiful park was a brand new experience. It was wonderful getting to see everyone's hesitation or apprehension about touching plants and insects turn to curiosity. Many of the things they collected were pressed in their books to take out later and identify or draw. Some beautiful books were several inches thick stuffed with plants and feathers.











bottom of page